Good living, good life…

I haven’t been feeling myself of late; a few days maybe, maybe a week. My daily routines have gone for a toss since I moved out of Pondi. My breathwork (pranayam), my smoothies, salads, controlled sleep cycle, exercise. It’s taking a toll on my RA (Rheumatoid Arthritis). I like my own space (kitchen esp) to stick to my way of living. And that is one thing imperative for my health; my way of living. And since I am not earning anything right now, I am not able to move to someplace where I can afford the way I live. Soon, hopefully. πŸ™‚ A couple of months I am estimating; maybe three. On top of that the week in McLeod’s. An all-time favorite place of mine. The long, long walks, up and down the mountain slopes. The fatigue added up. Thank heavens I did not go for the Triund trek, though I was tempted. Besides Cy didn’t want me to go; she still thinks that M and I had got lost the last time coming back from Triund. πŸ™‚ I didn’t lose our way, but just side-tracked for a little while.

So feeling the effects of a dampened health, I was thinking about all the things I need to start doing ASAP to regain my health, and of course hence, the spiritual connection with the universe. Though I know that the universe will never give up on me; I wanna be healthy and happy enough to take it’s love and fruits in abundance. An unhealthy, unhappy body (or mind) is like a closed house. Only good health, joy, and cheer can open all the doors and windows to let all the fresh air and natural light come in. And since I was thinking of things that I need to do for myself, I thought that I’d type it all down, for all my loved ones. πŸ™‚

Needless to say that spiritual development is imperative for a happy, truly healthy life. Spiritual development is not related to worshipping, religious faith, or any such…stuff. Spiritual development is the development of the self, connecting to the “one” within (or “two” or multiple withins; but that could require medical attention; take adequate required care) and being at peace with that (and hence) everything outside. A lot of times one starts to use a “deity” as a crutch, or as a holding hand trying to understand, or reach, that which is the self (only). heeheehee!! πŸ™‚

Spiritual development, or health, is directly connected with both physical and mental health. A lot of times one directly affects the other. For example, it is helpful to start exercising reguarly if you are not able to meditate and vice versa. But you will benefit maximum if you do a little bit of both. Religiously inclined people find that effect in the daily ritual regime, thereby providing a somewhat similar output or result. The difference being, you learn to make the roti from your “deity” and that all you do everyday, for the rest of your life. When you could have easily learned other things too like different kinds of rotis and paranthas and maybe have had a richer (spiritually) life. (Long) walks help me immensely to be at peace and relax. Ah! I miss walking around in McLeod Ganj. I love that place. I am going off-topic, but this one time I had almost settled down there, working as a teacher and a general aid provider in the rehabilitation center, after a short fling with a cute, really nice Tibetan. πŸ™‚ Sighhh….If only… πŸ™‚

Anyways, this is my ideal routine:
I wake up and stretch, and I try to stretch all my joints, taking care of how I breath while doing so. Surya namaskar is the best thing to do first thing in the morning, followed by a few pranayams. This is something I haven’t been doing for some months, and hence the physical discomforts and pains that I am feeling now.

I had started rinsing my mouth with oil, but haven’t been doing that either for quite sometime. It is called ‘oil pulling’ and supposed to be very good for your oral health. Sesame oil is recommended, but one can use coconut or almond oil. Take a cap full of oil, close your mouth, and swish the oil about in your mouth, like you would a mouthwash (I’d suggest you avoid using chemical-based mouthwashes; they are very strong and harmful to your health in the long run). Do that for 5-15 mins and then spit the oil out; you’d notice that the oil is white now. Ensure that not one drop goes in and this is bacteria-rich oil and could be harmful.

I then start my day with one large glass of warm water with a lemon squeezed in. Cy hates warm water so I haven’t yet been able to boss her into doing it. Followed by some fruit after about 20 mins; ensuring that the fruit is season’s fruit. Giving Cy an orange everyday in the winters keeps colds, coughs, and flu etc away.

With/for your breakfast try and inculcate the habit of consuming hot ginger water, or ginger green tea. Smash some ginger and boil it in the water for your tea. Prepare the (big) cup with a green tea-bag, some dried mint leaves, and a sweetner. Avoid sugar. I use shakkar (crushed jaggery), as I avoid honey too. Pour the hot ginger water in and have it. It’ll do loads of good to your overall health. Dropping a thin slice of lemon in won’t hurt.

I have always enjoyed paranthas and rotis for b’fast. One of our most favorite sandwich is the roti sandwich where I put some mayonnaise (eggless) on the roti and then put layers of lettuce, cucumber, some onions, and capsicum, and some leftover sabzi (preferably aloo), fold it like a taco and yummm.

Keep hydrating yourself through the day. If you are not able to keep away from coffee then ensure a glassful of water before and after a cup of coffee. I’ve heard the french do this routinely. They do have good skin. πŸ™‚

An hour’s walk, or jog, or whatever anytime between 5:00 and 6:30.

I have dinner by 6:30-7:00. I loooooove a bowl full of moong dal (soup) with some veggies. Or some other soup. I mostly just steam stuff in the pressure cooker and then blend it in the blender. One of my favorite is to fry huge chunks of onion and then pumpkin, a few whistles in the pressure cooker, and the blender and yummm… πŸ™‚ You can add spices etc and other things for taste accordingly.

If i haven’t worked out earlier, I’d like to go by 7 and then have something light. Or eat by 6:30, wait for a couple of hrs and then go for a nice long walk.

Another thing I’d like to add. I switched to completely natural facewash long back and have been immensely happy with it. For all the people who look for neem this and aloe that, why not use the real stuff. I use 1:1 besan and powdered (dried) orange peel, mixed with some crushed almonds and dahi, twice a day, like any regular facewash. I use gel of the aloevera that grows in my garden as a moisturizer. I use coconut oil on my face at night, over the aloevera gel once it dries. It’s a good tanning oil so not a good idea to wear during the day for people who wish to avoid getting tanned. My facial skin had never looked better. You can vary ingredients as per your skin requirements. I love bathing with just besan and dahi too; but just get lazy and use the soap. Skin feels gorgeous after a good besan and dahi rub. πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Good living, good life…

Leave a Reply

